The National Maritime Institute of Ireland was founded in 1941. Our mission is to foster an appreciation of our maritime heritage. To that end we operate the museum, host lectures, issue newsletters and a journal, maintain a library, host and support commemorations, promote and conduct research.

An extensive article on the history of the Maritime Institute of Ireland can be found here.

An article by Dr. John de Courcy Ireland on the origins of the Maritime.

Institute of Ireland can be found here.

Board Members
Vice President Jochen Romstedt
General Secretary Therese King
Treasurer Richard McCormick
Ray Traynor
Peadar Ward
Roger Kirker
Michael Haugh
Conor Doyle
Glynis Ryan
Sean O’Byrne